Skip To The Main Content

News ​Archive

2018 Topeka District Winner

KDA Announces 2018 NCDHM Drawing Contest Winners

Each February, the Kansas Dental Association participates in the National Children’s Dental Health Month (NCDHM) campaign to educate children, parents, and teachers on the importance of good oral health. 

As part of the 2018 NCDHM campaign, the KDA held its annual Drawing Contest, as well as the f​ifth annual Class Project Contest, with the theme, "Brush your teeth with fluoride toothpaste and clean between your teeth for a healthy smile."

All elementary schools in Kansas received an information packet with contest materials, activity sheets, posters, and more - and all third grade students in Kansas were invited to participate in the contests.

The KDA received many wonderful submissions for both contests. Thank you to everyone who participated!

The Drawing Contest Winners are listed below. Each student will receive a $50 gift card, and their participating teacher will receive a $100 gift card to purchase classroom supplies and activities. 

Winners of the KDA Class Project Contest will be announced on or around Monday, April 9. 

2018 Central District Winner
Central District
Alexa - Mrs. Holly Perez
Buffalo Jones Elementary
Garden City, KS

2018 Fifth District Winner Cropped
Fifth District
Morgan - Mrs. Malinda Gatlin
Grand Star Elementary
Gardner, KS

2018 1st District Winner Cropped
First District
Daniel - Mrs. Sandra Dailey
Christ the King Catholic School
Kansas City, KS

2018 FH District Winner
Flint Hills District
Maddy - Mrs. Deanne Kelly
Timmerman Elementary
Emporia, KS

2018 NWGB District Winner
NW/GB District
Tessa - Mrs. Mica Johnson
Rawlins County Elementary
Atwood, KS

2018 7th District Winner Cropped
Seventh District
Jenna - Mr. Dale Wiens
Goessel Elementary
Goessel, KS

2018 Southeast District Winner Cropped
Southeast District
Josue - Mr. Paul Hanney
Westside Elementary
Pittsburg, KS

2018 Southern District Winner
Southern District
Corbin - Mrs. Katie Hartley
Lowell Elementary
Winfield, KS

2018 Topeka District Winner
Topeka District
Gian - Ms. Haley Jeffrey
McClure Elementary
Topeka, KS

2018 Wichita District Winner
Wichita District
Rose - Mrs. Wendy Haynie-Colby
Andale Elementary
Andale, KS