In October 2004, new fee regulations were promulgated setting fees at approximately 64% of the maximum allowed by statute.  Beginning in State Fiscal Year 2005 and during all subsequent years all fees collected from licensees and registrants have been placed in the Radiation Control Operations Fee Fund. The initial fee structure was projected to be adequate to support the program activities for a period of five (5) years prior to any expected fee increases.  These initial fees have not been increased in approximately the last eight years.


The Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s Bureau of Environmental Health, Radiation Control Program proposed an amendment to K.A.R. 28-35-147 “Schedule of Fees”.  This amendment adjusts fees to approximately 83% of the maximum as established in K.S.A. 48-1606 and is projected to generate sufficient revenue to operate the radiation control program for a period of at least five additional years. Notice of this proposed fee increase was published in the Kansas Register on December 13, 2013, and a public hearing was held on February 18, 2013.  The final regulation was published in the Kansas Register on March 14, 2013, and became effective on March 29, 2013.


New Fees:

 The new annual fee due on or before March 1 every year is $135.00 facility plus $35.00 for each x-ray tube and $130.00 for each accelerator.  These fees will be prorated on a quarterly basis for new x-ray equipment that is added to your inventory on file with KDHE. Annual x-ray registration materials are sent on December 31 each year.  As stated in the notice sent to your facility on December 31, 2012 with the annual registration materials, facilities that have not registered their x-ray equipment for 2013 that was due on or before March 1, 2013 will be required to pay the new registration fees that are now in effect.


 A copy of the revised regulation K.A.R. 28-35-147a “Schedule of Fees” can be found at  If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Bureau of Environmental Health, Radiation and Asbestos Control Section at 785-296-1560.