Dr. Maxine Feinberg – 2013 ADA President-Elect


Updated Story Courtesy of ADA News

In balloting at the House of Delegates today, Dr. Maxine Feinberg, of Westfield, N.J., was elected president-elect of the American Dental Association. Dr. Jonathan D. Shenkin of  Freeport, Maine, was elected ADA second vice president.

Shortly after election results were announced, Dr. Feinberg thanked her supporters and family  “and every member of this House of Delegates, and I assure everyone of you that I will keep my promises to you and fight on your behalf.” She pledged to “move this Association forward as we want to move it, not as others want to.”

An ADA member for 32 years, Dr. Feinberg is immediate past trustee of the ADA’s 4th District (Delaware, District of Columbia, Federal Dental Services, Maryland, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands).

As trustee, she served on a number of Board committees and was the first elected chair of the ADA Audit Committee. She also chaired both the Task Force on Student Debt and the Council on Members Insurance and Retirement Plans.

A 1980 graduate of New York University College of Dentistry, Dr. Feinberg was a delegate of the FDI World Dental Federation and is past president of the New Jersey Dental Association and the New Jersey State Board of Dentistry.

She is a member of the American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists, Pierre Fauchard Academy, American Academy of Periodontology and the Academy of General Dentistry.

Dr. Feinberg will succeed Dr. Charles Norman as ADA president when the House reconvenes in San Antonio next fall.

Dr. Shenkin, the new second vice president, has been an ADA member for 21 years. He is past chair of the ADA Council on Communications and served as a consultant to the ADA Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations.

Dr. Shenkin is 1996 graduate of Columbia University College of Dental Medicine and a past president of the Maine Dental Association. He also served on the board of the Maine Dental Political Action Committee.

He is a member of the of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, American Academy of Pediatrics, American College of Dentists, International College of Dentists and the Academy of General Dentistry.